About UCAT

The Utah College of Applied Technology (UCAT) is the parent organization for Utah’s eight regional applied technology colleges (ATCs). Established by the State of Utah, UCAT provides market-driven technical education through eight ATCs meeting the needs of Utah’s employers for skilled workers.

The ATCs prepare adult and high school students to enter or advance in the workplace. Customized training is also provided to employers for their workforce through UCAT’s Custom Fit program.

The eight ATCs are Bridgerland, Davis, Dixie, Mountainland, Ogden/Weber, Southwest, Tooele, and Uintah Basin.


The mission of the Utah College of Applied Technology (UCAT) is to meet the needs of Utah’s employers for technically-skilled workers and to promote economic development by providing market-driven technical education to secondary and adult students.


The Utah College of Applied Technology will be recognized as a world-class provider of technically skilled workers needed for the 21st century workforce.

Guiding Principles

Through its applied technology colleges, UCAT prepares students to enter, re-enter, upgrade or advance in the workplace, which contributes to economic development and improves the quality of life for Utah citizens.  The UCAT mission is accomplished through competency-based education and training programs, which may be long-term, short-term, apprenticeship or custom-designed for individual employer needs.  Most of the programs are offered in a flexible open-entry/open-exit format.

UCAT History

In June 2001, a special session of the Legislature passed House Bill 1003, creating the Utah College of Applied Technology (UCAT), the state’s tenth and newest institution of the Utah System of Higher Education under the State Board of Regents. Beginning September 1, 2001, nine former Applied Technology Centers and Service Regions were organized under the new Utah College of Applied Technology. In creating UCAT, the Legislature changed how the applied technology education entities are governed and organized, as well as their names.

The former entities included:

Five stand-alone Applied Technology Centers: Bridgerland in Logan, Davis in Kaysville, Ogden Weber in Ogden, Uintah Basin in Roosevelt, and Sevier Valley in Richfield (which had been merged with Snow College in 1999 as Snow College South, prior to being placed under UCAT in 2001). These centers had developed over a period of approximately 25-30 years, starting betweeen 1961 and 1982 as Area Vocational Centers and operating in state-owned facilities under the Utah State Board of Education. The AVCs were redesignated as Applied Technology Centers in 1992.

Four applied technology center service regions: Mountainland in Orem, Southeast in Price/Blanding, Southwest in Cedar City/St. George, and Wasatch Front South in Salt Lake City. These entities had developed over the previous ten years and operated under the joint oversight of the State Board of Education and the State Board of Regents in public and/or higher education facilities or leased facilities..

Each of the former entities were designated “Applied Technology Colleges” (ATCs), campuses of UCAT. The previous Southwest region was divided into two new regions, bringing the total number of UCAT campuses to ten. The Dixie ATC was created to serve Washington County, and the Southwest ATC continued to serve Beaver, Iron, Garfield, and Kane counties.

At the creation of UCAT, Snow College South (the former Sevier Valley ATC) was designated the Central Applied Technology College (CATC), a UCAT campus. During the Utah Legislature’s 2003 General Session, House Bill 161 transferred CATC functions and responsibilities to Snow College and designated it Snow College-Richfield Campus, effective 7/1/03.


In 2007 the Legislature merged the Southeast ATC campus into the College of Eastern Utah, leaving the total number of UCAT campuses at eight.

Between November 2005 and June 2007, the Council on Occupational Education granted full accreditation to each of the eight UCAT campuses, culminating four years of intensive self-study efforts by all of the campuses.

In 2009 the Legislature provided for UCAT to be governed by the UCAT Board of Trustees separately from the Board of Regents, merged the Salt Lake County portion of the Salt Lake/Tooele Applied Technology College into Salt Lake Community College, and created the Tooele Applied Technology College from the Tooele County portion.

UCAT is Utah’s resource for preparing the state’s 21st Century workforce, with eight applied technology colleges providing opportunities for high-quality, statewide open-entry, open-exit, competency-based education. The eight applied technology colleges are: Bridgerland, Davis, Dixie, Mountainland, Ogden-Weber, Southwest, Tooele, and Uintah Basin.